The current mood of the little nikki girl
*-* - August 13, 2016
*Newness* - February 27, 2006
*Gavin Anthony* - April 04, 2005
*Distractions* - February 24, 2005
*Othello, tha Moore of Vefunky Ass* - February 18, 2005


Constantine February 09, 2005 - 4:00 a.m.

I've been feeling girly lately. I've been dying to get some good hairspray, a curling iron, new mascara and maybe eyeliner, and even new pretty underwear. I've heavily considered getting my ears re-pierced and if I had the money, I'd buy lots of new clothes. Like... nice, girly shirts. Stylish stuff. Nice 'slacks' and new shoes. Shoes that are the direct opposite of my typical black clunky boots. I've also wished for the cash to go have my hair professionally cut and styled. I'm getting tired of this boring all-one-length mess that I can't do anything with. I'm even considering a perm. Big curls, of course.

The closest I've gotten to accomplishing any of this, is by cutting my own hair. Just a little - whispies. Long bangs that hang down near the level of my nose, just to frame my face. I also bought some new 'roos a few days ago. Cotton, but they're Super Mega Lowrise Hiphugger Extravaganza... or something. They're cute, so they work, and they allow me to wear my jeans without showing an inch of my underwear when I sit down. Also, four pairs for $6 and tagless. Gotta love that Walmart clearance.

Now that I've mentioned my unmentionables, I'll add just how cool it is to get free passes for sneak previews of movies.

We were able to go see Constantine tonight. Apparently it's only loosely based on the comics. 'Inspired by' kind of deal. But as we haven't read the comics, this didn't bother us.

In fact, we really enjoyed it.

There were only a few scenes where Keanu's acting made us wretch and the effects were great. I only remember a couple of action sequences towards the end that made my skin crawl from its obviousness, but overall we agreed that the effects were done very well. The story had a nice blend of theology, cult lore, and personal demons - in addition to literal demons, obviously. And though it had a strong hold as a drama, it managed to have funny moments that didn't feel forced or fake. Moments that, if you were that person, you could see yourself enacting. They were human, natural reactions.

My movie opinions usually don't count for shit, as I tend to like everything. But both Chris and the friend that got us the tickets really enjoyed it and we overheard several people in the theater saying they enjoyed it, too.

I'd like to hear what fans of the comic book thought. It's my understanding that a lot was changed for the movie, especially the main character - and comic fans can be insanely picky about the book-to-movie adaptations.




I still need to post my Christmas list... but HOL has been a great preoccupation. I'll get to it eventually. Especially now that I've finally got the gifts from my mom and brother.

.: previous - next :.